Kurkowski Law -- South Jersey Employment Lawyers

Drug Crimes

 
 
 
FREE CASE EVALUATION
609-884-1788

Kurkowski Law -- Criminal Defense

Drug Crimes

New Jersey drug charges can have a serious effect on your life and the lives of family and friends around you. Convictions for drug crimes will tarnish your record and cost you heavily in fines and lawyer fees. You may even spend time in jail for some drug crimes. Charges may be filed for any illegal drug or substance, including marijuana, hallucinogens, methamphetamines, heroin, cocaine, etc.

Charges for selling drugs are more severe and can carry harsh punishments, including lengthy jail time. A drug conviction for selling an illegal substance can adversely affect your life, your job and your future. It is vital that you have a strategic New Jersey drug defense attorney on your side to achieve the best possible results. Contact the attorneys at Kurkowski Law for a free consultation regarding the drug charges you face today.

DRUG OFFENSES IN NEW JERSEY

Drug Possession

Possession of illegal drugs or certain drugs without a valid prescription is a criminal offense in New Jersey. The degree of the offense and the resulting punishment depend upon the type of drug and the quantity someone is caught with. The basic drug possession statute is N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10. All drug offenses under this statue carry with them a loss of driver’s license for between six months and two years.

The statute makes possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana a disorderly persons offense. The penalties include a fine of up to $1,000.00, up to six months in the county jail, a $500.00 DEDR penalty, and other monetary penalties.

Possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana or possession without a prescription of certain Schedule V prescription drugs such as codeine are indictable 4th degree offenses punishable by up to 18 months in state prison and a fine of up to $15,000.00.

Possession without a valid prescription of Schedule IV prescription drugs such as Xanax or Ambien, Schedule III substances such as anablolic steroids or barbituates, Schedule II substances such as cocaine, methamphetamine, PCP, and morphine, and Schedule I drugs such as ecstasy(MDMA), heroin, mescaline, psilocybin (mushrooms), and GHB are all indictable 3rd degree crimes punishable by up to 5 years in state prison, a fine of up to $35,000.00, and a $1,000.00 DEDR penalty.

For alternatives to prison sentences and loss of driver’s license read the section below on Alternative Sentencing.

Drug Manufacture, Distribution, or Possession with Intent to Distribute

Drug manufacturing, distributing, or possessing with intent to distribute are all found in N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5. The penalties for all of these activities are the same. The severity of punishment for the offense varies depending upon what the substance is and the quantity.

Heroin, Cocaine, Or Methamphetamine

If the quantity is less than 1/2 oz. it is a 3rd degree criminal offense punishable by up to 5 years in state prison and up to a $75,000.00 fine.

If the quantity is more than 1/2 oz. but less than 5 oz. it is a 2nd degree criminal offense punishable by up to 10 years in state prison and a fine of up to $75,000.00.
If the quantity is greater than 5 oz. it is a 1st degree criminal offense punishable by up to 20 years in state prison with parole ineligibility for one-third to one-half of the sentence, and a fine of up to $500,000.00.

LSD

If the quantity is less than 100 milligrams it is a 2nd degree offense punishable by up to 10 years in state prison and a fine of up to $75,000.00.

If the quantity is more than 100 milligrams it is a 1st degree offense punishable by up to 20 years in state prison with parole ineligibility for one-third to one-half of the sentence, and a fine of up to $500,000.00.

Marijuana

If the quantity is less than 1 oz. it is a 4th degree offense punishable by up to 18 months in state prison and a fine of up to $15,000.00.

If the quantity is more than 1 oz. but less than 5 lbs. it is a 3rd degree offense punishable by up to 5 years in state prison and a fine of up to $25,000.00.

If the quantity is more than 5 lbs., but less than 25 lbs., it is a 2nd degree offense punishable by up to 10 years in state prison and up to a $75,000.00 fine.

If the quantity is more than 25 lbs. it is a 1st degree offense punishable by up to 20 years in state prison and a fine of up to $300,000.00.

First offenders for marijuana charges in New Jersey are afforded “Conditional Discharge” which allows the offender who completes the requirements of the state to have his or her charges dismissed.

Drug Paraphernalia

Possession of drug paraphernalia is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey under N.J.S.A. 2C:36-6. drug paraphernalia is anything used in planting, growing, packaging, ingesting, inhaling, or injecting a controlled dangerous substance. It is punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail, a fine of up to $1,000.00 and a loss of driver’s license for between 6 months and 2 years.

CRIMINAL DEFENSE       

QUICK LINKS

The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)  requires employers of 50 or more employees to give up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to eligible employees.. more

The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (NJLAD) makes it unlawful to subject people to differential treatment based upon the characteristics that make up a particular individual -- race, nationality, age, sex, marital status, perceived sexual orientation.. more

The New Jersey Conscientious Employee Protection Act is one of the most far-reaching whistleblower statutes in the nation. Aimed to protect employee “whistleblowers,” the statute makes it unlawful for an employer to take adverse employment action(s) against an employee.. more


CONTACT FORM

Name: Last:


Phone: E-mail:


Comments:

Atlantic City Law Cape May Legal

RESOURCES SITE MAP     DIRECTIONS     DISCLAIMER   

Web Design and SEO by Figytech
Copyright 2011 Kurkowski Law